HIERARCHY OF SETTLEMENTS

The current planning policy for residential development in the villages is set out in the Council's "Interim Housing Policy (July 2009)"

In this policy, the "settlement hierarchy" comprises three categories, namely:

Limited Development Villages, wherein additional development is permitted on specific sites identified by the Council together with suitable infill plots (these are: Deanshanger, Middleton Cheney and Old Stratford).

Restricted Infill Villages, wherein additional development is restriced to suitable sites within the village "confines" as defined on village constraints maps. With the exception of a few small hamlets (see below), this category includes all of the other villages in the District, including Sulgrave.

Restraint Villages, being a number of small hamlets where permission for residential developmet is only granted in exceptional circumstances. These are: Alderton, Courteenhall, Passenham, Castle Ashby, Hulcote and Thenford